Workers’ Compensation in New Jersey | What You Need to Know

Have you been injured in your workplace? If so, you may be eligible to receive workers’ compensation. Workers’ compensation benefits are meant to aid an injured employee while they are unable to work due to the accident. Read on to learn more.

What benefits can I receive?

If you are injured at work and eligible to receive benefits, you may be able to recover:

  • Medical benefits
    • If you seek medical treatment as a result of your injury, you may be eligible to have these expenses covered.
  • Temporary disability benefits
    • A worker is eligible for these benefits once he or she has been unable to work for at least seven days, including weekends and holidays.
  • Permanent partial benefits
    • These benefits will be classified as “scheduled” or “non-scheduled” losses.
  • Permanent total benefits
    • This can provide up to 450 weeks of payments at 70 percent of the workers’ gross weekly wage at the time they were injured.
  • Death benefits
    • A surviving family member can seek and receive 70 percent of the weekly wage as well as up to $3,500 in funeral costs.

What to know about third-party lawsuits for workplace injuries:

In some circumstances, an injury is caused by your employer’s negligence. In other cases, the accident was not the fault of your employer, but rather the fault of a third party. For example, if a company sold faulty equipment and you are injured as a result, you may have a product liability lawsuit. When this occurs, you have the right to bring a lawsuit against the liable party, regardless of whether you collect workers’ compensation. Sometimes workers’ compensation is just not enough and a third-party lawsuit can help recover additional damages, including the full amount of lost wages, medical bills, pain and suffering, loss of enjoyment of life, and more. If you are successful in your third-party lawsuit and have been receiving workers’ compensation benefits, you will most likely need to reimburse the workers’ compensation program for the amount you were provided.

File your claim on time:

If you have been injured as a result of another party’s negligence, you may wish to take legal action. In order to do so, you will have to file your claim within a certain amount of time, or else you will be ineligible to take action. This deadline is known as a statute of limitations. In New Jersey, the statute of limitations for a personal injury accident is generally two years from the date of the accident.

If you have been injured at work, our firm will advocate for you. Contact us right away to discuss your case.


If you have been involved in a motor vehicle accident or were injured on another person’s property, please contact our firm today.

Read Our Latest News & Blogs